Cross Country

 

The club participates in both the Kent Fitness League and the Kent League for cross country. 

Kent Fitness League

Sunday 14th November – New Barn Park, Swanley

Sunday 28th November – Oxleas Wood

Sunday 12th December – Fowlmead

Sunday 2nd January – Minnis Bay

Sunday 16th January – Shorne Woods

Sunday 6th February- Blean Woods, Canterbury.

Sunday 20th February – Knole Park, 9 a.m. start

Kent League

Saturday 16th October – Swanley Park

Saturday 23rd October – Somerhill School

Saturday 13th November – Danson Park

Saturday 27th November – Footscray Meadows

Saturday 12th February – Norman Park

Other cross country events in which Istead members participate are:

Kent County Cross Country Championship – Saturday 8th January – Brands Hatch

English National Cross Country Championships – Saturday 26th February – Parliament Hill, London

Here are the results for the 2019/2020 season:

Kent Fitness League:
The final race of the season was cancelled due to Storm Ciara, so the results were based on 5, not the planned 6, races:
Istead Ladies finished in an impressive 2nd place – their highest ranking ever, with the Men coming in 10th place, giving a combined finish place of 8th out of 18 teams.

Individually Trevor Edgley won the V70, Lynne Champion the V50 category & Joyce Bell the V65 category.

Other high finishers were Mark Champion 2nd V50, Barry Bell 2nd V70 and for the Ladies Lynne Champion was 5th overall, Katie Vick 11th and Victoria Katharine Wright 16th meaning that 3 ladies finished in the top 20.

In the age categories Katie Vick was 3rd under 35 (with Victoria Katharine Wright 4th), & Sally George was the 3rd F35.

This year also saw record turnouts for the club in cross country with Mark Champion, Aaron Pritchard, Matt Aspinall, Trevor Edgley, Barry Bell, Graham Green, Lynne Champion, Victoria Katharine Wright, Sally George, Janet Murray, Sandra Barbuti , Joyce Bell & Mandy Green completing all 5 races this year.

                     

  The 2019/2020 season will be remembered as a particularly muddy one!

Kent League Cross Country
Barbara Ockendon won the trophy for 65+ category, with Barry Bell coming 3rd in the over 70s.

 

 

 

Please note that if you want to take part in Cross Country, you will need to wear a club vest.